Riley County football celebrates sectional title 2019

In this file photo, the Riley County football holds up the Class 2A sectional championship trophy after beating Silver Lake in 2019. The Falcons will move back to Class 2A next season. Their district assignment for the 2022 and 2023 seasons was released Wednesday by KSHSAA.

The Kansas High School Activities Association on Wednesday released district football assignments for the 2022 and 2023 seasons.

Among area schools, Riley County will have the biggest district change following their move down to Class 2A.

The Falcons will face Horton, Minneapolis, Sabetha and Nemaha Central.

Wabaunsee and Valley Heights also will move to a new district after Class 1A expanded.

The Chargers and Mustangs will face each other along with Belleville-Republic County, Salina-Sacred Heart and Smith Center.

Rock Creek lost most of its district to relegation and now will be facing Clay Center, Concordia and Marysville, with Hiawatha being the lone holdover from its previous district assignment.

Frankfort and Blue Valley-Randolph’s district assignment remains mostly unchanged with the exceptions of Wetmore and Onaga.

Wetmore will move down from 8-Man Division II to 6-Player football beginning next year, while Onaga High will move up to Class 1A.

Frankfort and Blue Valley also will now play Doniphan West in district play after the Mustangs moved down to 8-Player Div. II.