Republican precinct officials in Pottawatomie County will meet Tuesday to elect a candidate to fill the unexpired term of Sheriff Greg Riat.

The delegate convention, called by the Pott County Republican Central Committee, will be held at 6:30 p.m. in the courtroom of the Pott County Justice Center at Westmoreland.

The county’s Republican officials on Nov. 7 elected Riat, rural Belvue, to fill the final year of the unexpired term of Travis Altenhofen, who will step down Jan. 10 as District 3 county commissioner. Altenhofen resigned recently due to additional responsibilities at his job at Manko Window Systems, Inc. in Manhattan.

Riat’s election to the county commission precludes him from completing the final year of his fifth four-year term as Pott County sheriff. He received a majority vote of the 19 Republican precinct committee members of the third district, which comprises the eastern and northern portions of the county.

The vote for Riat’s successor will include all 26 precinct committee members in Pott County, according to Nancy McCarter, county election officer.

Pott County GOP officials have changed the rules slightly for the Nov. 26 election, according to McCarter. Only precinct delegates will be allowed to proffer nominations and seconds of candidates, she said. In the election for county commissioner, nominations were accepted from any registered Republican residing in District 3.

Two persons have expressed interest in the sheriff’s position: Pott County Undersheriff Shane Jager and Wamego Police Chief Michael Baker.

Although both Jager and Baker have filed for the office for the November 2020 election, they must be nominated next Tuesday to be considered to fill Riat’s unexpired term, according to McCarter.

Pott County GOP precinct committee men and women include Norman Stutzman, Belvue; Judson and Barbara Jones, Blue Township; Lynn and Patricia Schwandt, Center Township; Jessica McAtarian, Emmett; Edwin and Brenda Martin, Louisville; Ramona Tessendorf, Mill Creek Township; Ashley Rice, Pottawatomie Township; Kyle Hutson and Cheryl Anne Reves, Rock Creek Township; Robert and Lesa Reves, Shannon Township; Dennis and Ireta Schwant, Sherman Township; Gregory Moats and Shannon Awerkamp, St. Marys; John and Sarah McCarthy, St. Marys Township; Gary Burgess and Betty Jo Abitz, Union Township; David and Janette Mize, Wamego; Leslie Dugan, Wamego; and Cheri Pugh, Wamego Township.