Voters will choose between five candidates for four open seats on the Manhattan-Ogden School Board this November.

Joseph Dasenbrock and Brandy Santos filed prior to the noon Monday deadline on Friday and Monday morning, respectively.

Dasenbrock, manager of research and direct marketing at Champion Teamwear, said he believes his “unique perspectives” will be an advantage to him if he is elected, especially when dealing with the bond projects, which include building a new elementary school and expanding Manhattan High School.

“I’ve worn a hard hat, I’ve worn a suit, I’ve gone to trade school and a standard university,” he said. “I have an understanding from the boots and in my education side for managing the bond issue.”

Dasenbrock, who’s lived here since 2012, said he felt it was part of his civic duty to run for an elected position.

“We’ve lived in the community for a long time and it’s treated us, me and my wife, pretty well,” he said.

Santos, a stay-at-home mom, said her family moved to Manhattan in November and she was inspired to run after experiencing difficulties getting her children enrolled.

“We had difficulty getting into the school they were zoned for because of overcrowding,” she said. “When I asked how long that had been going on, I was told a while. I wanted to be proactive, so families can be sure to get into the school they’re zoned for so they don’t have to worry about busing.”

Santos said buildings were her main concern, both for overcrowding and maintenance of the facilities.

“I see a lot of the temporary buildings around,” she said. “I would like to see schools be safe for students to get a good education.”

Curt Herrman, current board president, current board member Darell Edie, and Kristin Brighton, co-founder of New Boston Creative, previously filed.

Herrman has been on the board 12 years, and Edie has been for eight years. Both said as a reason for running again that they wanted to see the bond projects through.

Brighton said one of the reasons she is running is to help figure out the best way to recruit and retain teachers, as well as modernizing secondary courses.

Current board members Leah Fliter and Dave Colburn did not file to run again.

Fliter said last week that it was an honor to serve the school district, but she felt it was time to let someone else run.

“I thought it’s time to give someone else in the community a chance to step up,” she said. “Someone else might be interested and we have a good team in place now.”

Fliter has served since 2011.

When his term is completed, Colburn will be the second longest-serving board member since 1965 when the district was established.

Colburn has served since July 2003, which would place him at 16-and-a-half years at the end of his term.

Barbara Whitee served 17-and-a-half years from 1975 to 1993.

Bob Newsome from 1971 to 1987 and Joleen Hill from 1987 to 2003 each served 16 years.

Colburn could not be reached for comment Tuesday.