Incumbent Linda Morse, Mark Hatesohl and Aaron Estabrook will be sworn in as Manhattan city commissioners during the Jan. 7 city commission meeting, which is the first commission meeting of 2020.

Mayor Mike Dodson and commissioner Jerred McKee are in office until Hatesohl and Estabrook are sworn in.

City manager Ron Fehr said city officials help prepare the new commissioners with an orientation, which is beginning soon. He said he is looking forward to working with the commissioners.

Morse and Hatesohl earned four-year terms on the city commission while Estabrook gained a two-year term for finishing in third place.

Looking back at the election, Fehr said he thought it was great that so many people became involved and ran for the three seats on the city commission.

“I think that just showed we had a lot of strong interest by all the candidates,” he said.

Morse, Hatesohl and Estabrook defeated five other candidates: Sarah Siders, Kaleb James, Maureen Sheahan, Mary Renee Shirk and Vincent Tracey.

During the election, people had the opportunity to use new election equipment purchased by Riley County earlier this year.

Riley County clerk Rich Vargo told The Mercury on Wednesday that the machines ran smoothly throughout election day.

“Machines worked great, and people really liked them,” Vargo said.