The Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce on Friday named Brenda and Ward Morgan its Citizens of the year.

The award was announced during the Chamber’s annual meeting and banquet at Manhattan Conference Center.

Lisa Sisley, meanwhile, was selected as the C. Clyde Jones Volunteer of the Year.

Ward and Brenda Morgan are the 53rd recipients of the Citizen of the Year award and the first to receive as a couple.

Brenda grew up in Manhattan attending Woodrow Wilson and Northview Elementary schools and graduating from Manhattan High School. She attended MATC and Kansas State University and worked for Steel and Pipe Supply before starting her career as a local volunteer.

Ward grew up in Kansas as well, graduating from Decatur Community High School. He went to tech school for auto mechanics and Kansas State University for business. He co-founded Networks Plus in 1994 and then went on to create CivicPlus.

They created the Green Apple Bike Program and most recently opened Manhattan’s newest attraction, the Midwest Dream Car Collection. Last year they set up a donor advised fund at the Greater Manhattan Community Foundation for $17 million.

The Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year award is named in honor of long-tenured former Manhattan Chamber president Lud Fiser.

Sisley came to Manhattan as a K-State student and never left the community. After college, Sisley worked for both the Manhattan Public Library, the KSU Vet Med Library, and The Master Teacher, before starting her own business. In 2006 she became part of the trio that started New Boston Creative Group.

Sisley has been an active member of many community organizations during her years in Manhattan.

She also has served for many years on the chamber’s Business Advocacy Committee.

The Chamber’s volunteer of the year award honors C. Clyde Jones, a 60-year Manhattan resident who served as first dean of Kansas State University’s College of Business. Jones has a long-running record of community service activity in Manhattan.

Sisley is the 31st recipient of the award.