Head coach Chris Klieman talks with referees

K-State head coach Chris Klieman talks with referees about a call that was made during K-State’s final drive against Kansas on Nov. 2, 2019. Klieman will be allowed to hold virtual meetings with players under a new Big 12 rule.

If he had an opportunity at a do-over, Chris Klieman would change his decision-making at the end of Saturday’s game at Texas.

Klieman, in his first season’s as Kansas State’s head coach, accepted a penalty against Texas that negated a touchdown by Longhorn quarterback Sam Ehlinger with 39 seconds remaining and the game tied at 24. Ehlinger took a knee on the next play. That set the stage for kicker Cameron Dicker to end the contest with a 26-yard, game-winning field goal as time expired.

Given the benefit of hindsight, Klieman said he wishes he had declined the penalty and allowed the touchdown to stand. Klieman also was frustrated at himself because he admits he wasn’t entirely sure about the nature of the penalty.

“I really thought it was a dead ball penalty, and that’s what I was told,” Klieman said during his time on the Big 12 coaches teleconference Monday. “They marked it, and it was so far away, and we went on and played.”

Klieman accepted responsibility for not being more assertive with the officiating crew.

“(The officials) never asked, to be honest with you (and) they don’t have to,” Klieman said. “I have to be the one who says, ‘Wait a minute, was it a dead ball?’ We were trying to yell at them and find out, and we weren’t getting a whole lot of response.”

Recommended for you