The Kansas State men’s basketball team earned the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Team Academic Excellence Award Thursday for its classroom performance in the 2019-20 school year.

The NABC gives the honor to teams that showcase a record academic excellence during the athletics year. Teams must achieve a cumulative 3.0 GPA to be eligible.

K-State was one of four Big 12 schools to earn the honor; the others are Oklahoma State, Texas and West Virginia. It is the first time the Wildcats have won the award since the 2012-13 school year.

Several players on the team earned individual awards during the season, with Cartier Diarra, Pierson McAtee and Mike McGuirl earning Academic All-Big 12 honors. DaJuan Gordon landed on the Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team.

“I’m extremely proud of our guys for their efforts in the classroom,” head coach Bruce Weber said in a release. “Obviously, this has been a challenging academic environment for our players and I can’t thank them enough for their hard work. Many thanks to Mike (Furlong) on our staff as well as Maryclare (Wheeler), Liane (Fowler) and many other members of the student-athlete services department for the support and dedication they give to our players.”

Recommended for you