Saturday, June 25, 2016



Opinion

  • Editorials | June 24, 2016

    Democrats erred in ending sit-in

    Democratic members of the U.S. House of Representatives gained a little momentum — and relevance — earlier this week when they staged a sit-in to protest the Republicans’ refusal to even allow a vote on a gun control measure.

  • Letters | June 24, 2016

    Cultural experiences were highlights of exchange year

    It’s hard to believe that, I, Jana Eder from Austria, will be leaving this country after spending 11 months as an AFS exchange student in a special place called Wamego!

  • Letters | June 24, 2016

    Ryan’s duty is to the people, not to the GOP or to Trump

    Paul Ryan stated in an interview that he could not avoid endorsing Donald Trump because, as the House leader, it is his job to lead the institution, not to support a chasm.

  • Editorials | June 23, 2016

    Good music and good times

    RVers at the Country Stampede might live in relative comfort, but here’s hoping those who pitched tents earlier this week had plenty of ice to cope with heat well in excess of 100 degrees Wednesday.

  • Letters | June 23, 2016

    Participants, donors made Relay for Life a success

    I would like to take thank everyone who generously supported the American Cancer Society’s Relay For Life of Riley County and braved the heat on Saturday, June 11.

  • Letters | June 23, 2016

    Herington a nice change for Berlin exchange student

    When I first heard that I would live one year in Herington, Kansas, I was disappointed that I would not live at the beach or in a big city.  But now I am happy that I have lived in a small town on a farm.

  • Editorials | June 22, 2016

    Time is short; act quickly, wisely

    Though members of the Kansas Legislature put themselves in the spot they’re in — and put public schools in the spot they’re in — we don’t envy lawmakers the task they’ll confront when the special session convenes Thursday morning.

  • Letters | June 22, 2016

    Can we now stop blaming Brownback for everything?

    Unless we figure the governor has himself ruined farm prices, I guess we’ll have to quit blaming him for the state’s inability to collect as much tax as was projected.

  • Letters | June 22, 2016

    MCS grateful for support of annual golf tournament

    Manhattan Catholic Schools’  faculty and staff would like to thank all the participants and sponsors that supported the 29th annual Manhattan Catholic Schools Golf Tournament.

  • Editorials | June 21, 2016

    Congress remains part of the problem

    Not even the deadliest mass shooting in U.S. history was enough Monday to break through the partisan gridlock that has long characterized politics in Washington, D.C.

  • Letters | June 21, 2016

    Reviewer captured Pillar’s work well

    Richard Harris’s excellent review of Paul R. Pillar’s “Why America Misunderstands the World” in Sunday’s Mercury succinctly captures the author’s thesis, which Mr. Pillar identifies as “National Experience and Roots of Misperception.”

  • Letters | June 21, 2016

    Thanks, Manhattan for great ‘life in a year’

    My name is Magnus Bernskov; I am a 17-year-old AFS exchange student from Denmark who attended Manhattan High School last year as a junior.

  • Editorials | June 20, 2016

    Kansas losing more than construction jobs

    The tax policies that Gov. Sam Brownback has said for several years would increase employment and prosperity are having the opposite effect. Nowhere is that more apparent than in the construction industry.

  • Letters | June 20, 2016

    Restaurants, residents made ‘Taste of the ‘Ville’ a success

    The members of P.E.O. Chapter IL want to thank all the Manhattanites who purchased tickets and enthusiastically attended the fifth annual Taste of the ’Ville in Aggieville on Saturday, June 11.

  • Columns | June 19, 2016

    China remains the major problem for America

    China will be near the top of the issues for the next administration. How it handles Beijing will set the tone for U.S. relations not only with China but also with the rest of the world.

  • Editorials | June 18, 2016

    Fatherhood brings many rewards

    Father’s Day is supposed to be a happy occasion. It’s meant to be a day when children, even if they’re sometimes reminded by their mother or another sibling, shower a little extra affection on their dads.

  • Letters | June 18, 2016

    Christians must protect, commit to lifestyle of peace

    This is no time to become despondent and accept these terrorist acts as the “new normal” for our country, and that nothing can be done to stop or prevent such attacks.

  • Letters | June 18, 2016

    Comparing guns and cars has obvious limitations

    There have been many references on social media equating better gun control with driving a car. I was thinking about that and came up with the following.

  • Editorials | June 17, 2016

    Loss of small rodent is a big deal

    The Bramble Cay melomys, a small rodent that had lived on an atoll about the size of a football field off the coast of Australia is considered the first mammal to be rendered extinct by man-made climate change.

  • Columns | June 17, 2016

    We’re losing our democracy

    I fervently hope I am wrong, but I fear the Mercury missed the point with its latest Trump editorial.

  • Editorials | June 16, 2016

    Judge erred in sealing affidavit

    District Court Judge Meryl D. Wilson on Wednesday went too far in sealing the affidavit leading to the arrest of a Manhattan businessman in connection with unlawful sexual relations.

  • Letters | June 16, 2016

    Junction City made German student feel right at home

    As a 16-year old AFS student from Germany, I have lived here for about 10 months. When I came to Junction City, it was completely different from what I expected, and I learned a lot.

  • Editorials | June 14, 2016

    Trump just gets more repulsive

    We would ask what’s gotten into Donald Trump, but about all that separates his outrageous comments Monday from so many other offensive remarks in recent weeks was the massacre of 49 innocent people.

  • Editorials | June 13, 2016

    Another martyr for a murderous cause

    Americans can find just about any cause they want for the slaughter Sunday morning at what’s been described as a gay nightclub in Orlando, Fla.

  • Letters | June 13, 2016

    Congress should restore ban on assault weapons

    The recent hate crime and terrorist act in Orlando, Florida, was one of a number of recent criminal incidents in which the person involved used an assault weapon.


Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2012

Reproduction of any kind is prohibited without written consent.