Doesn’t sound right to me…..
Its been several years but I was involved in an accident in Topeka a few years ago. Wasn’t my fault and the other driver was given a citation for attempting an illegal U Turn on I-70W in Topeka which was the cause of the accident.
The TPD gave me a copy of the other drivers Insurance information, and the following business day I called the other driver’s Insurance Company and told them I wanted to submit a claim for damages. They asked do you have an Insurance Policy with us?” I said no but the Driver who caused the accident does. Then they told me I would have to submit a claim with MY insurance company. I said “No, if I do that then my insurance company will raise my rates, your driver caused the damages to my car, are you going to pay for the damages or do I need to drag YOUR driver and YOUR company into court???
I was then told they would have an adjuster come out within 48 hours to look at the damages. SURPRISE I got a call about an hour later and the adjuster showed up that afternoon, 2 days later I had a check for the damages.
Now that was a few years ago and I don’t know how the Kansas Law’s have changed but..
This is currently posted on the Kansas Insurance Commissioner’s Web Site:
Who to Contact to File a Claim
1. Contact your insurance company or agent/agency about any motor vehicle accident regardless of fault. You should notify the insurance agent or company while the details are fresh in your mind. If you report a claim by telephone, follow up in writing. Cooperate with the insurance company’s investigation.
2. If you feel the other party is responsible for damages to your motor vehicle or other property, you will need to contact their insurance company or agent to file a claim.
3. The insurance agent or company’s representative will be able to inform you of the proper procedure to take ... such as, whether to obtain estimates from local repair shops or from the insurance company’s claim representative.
4. If you suffer any injuries and you are a titled owner of an insured motor vehicle, you should notify your own insurance company because your coverage under your Kansas No-Fault PIP benefits would be primary for any medical expenses incurred by you, regardless of fault.
5.Be sure to keep good records of any communication with an insurance company during a claims process, including dates.