Partly Cloudy


Wabaunsee High students to compete in state competition

By The Mercury

Nineteen entries from Wabaunsee High School qualified for the Kansas Scholastic Press Association state contest May 4 at the University of Kansas.

Aaron Mayer, honorable mention, cutline writing. 

Ian Carroll, honorable mention, cutline writing.

Shelby Savage, second place, editing.

Emily Anderson, honorable mention, editing.

Adrian Russo, honorable mention, editorial cartoon.

Lexi Diepenbrock, second place, editorial writing.

Derek Kilian, honorable mention, editorial writing.

Kayla Schmitz, honorable mention, feature writing.

Rachel Smith, honorable mention, feature writing.

Emily Anderson, second place, headline writing.

Lexi Diepenbrock, second place, news writing.

Rachel Smith, honorable mention, news writing.

Romie Hurla, honorable mention, newspaper sports writing.

Virginia Walker, first place, sports photography.

Jared Hedges, honorable mention, sports photography.

Kelsey Philp, second place, student life photography.

Jared Hedges/Jordan Degan, honorable mention, theme development.

Adrian Russo, second place, yearbook copy writing.

Zach Heine, honorable mention, yearbook sports writing.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017