Two architecture students honored with scholarships

By The Mercury

Two Kansas State University architectural engineering students are being honored for their leadership, scholarship abilities and potential service in the heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration industry.

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, also known as ASHRAE, awarded scholarships to Patrick McGrail, Jefferson City, Mo., and Cody Knuth, Adrian, Mo., both seniors in architectural engineering.

McGrail received the Willis H. Carrier Scholarship, the society’s highest honor. Established by the Carrier Foundation in honor of the company’s founder, two $10,000 scholarships are awarded annually. McGrail serves as the secretary for the university’s student chapter of the society and has attended two national meetings and numerous local chapter meetings. He is also a member of the Architectural Engineering Institute and Phi Alpha Epsilon, the architectural engineering honor society.

McGrail is also a member and a past officer of Lambda Chi Alpha, a men’s social fraternity.

Knuth received the Duane Hanson Scholarship.

Named in honor of the president of Gayner Engineers, a consulting mechanical/electrical engineering firm in San Francisco, one $3,000 scholarship is available annually.

Knuth has been active in the society, the Architectural Engineering Institute, the Structural Engineers Association of Kansas and Missouri, and Phi Alpha Epsilon.

The two students were nominated by Julia Keen, associate professor of architectural engineering and construction science and co-adviser for the student chapter of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017