Sting competes in KC

By The Mercury

The Manhattan Optimist Sting 18-and-under fastpitch softball team traveled to Kansas City to play in the Adair Park Summer Finale.

On Saturday, the Sting was able to pull in a couple wins in pool play before the rain moved in and postponed the bracket play until Sunday and shortened the tournament to a single elimination tournament.

In the first game on Saturday, Sydney Bannister led the Sting to a 6-1 win over the Lady Jazz allowing seven hits with three strikeouts and one walk. On Offense, Madi Fief, Jennifer Griffitt, and Bannister each had two singles with Taylor Prockish, Kerrigan Simons, Katelin Hoefler, Abby Whitney, and Morgan Chauncey each recording a single.

Bannister again took a win with a 7-0 shutout against the Missouri Revolution, allowing three hits and producing two strikeouts. Lindsey Hageman led the offense going 4 for 4 at the plate, while Hoefler doubled. Simons, Chauncey and Fief added two singles, and Prockish recorded a single.

On Sunday morning, the Sting would lose their first bracket game against the 4:13 Pride.

At the end of regulation time after five innings, the game was tied 1-1 and it sent the battle into an international tie-breaker where each team was allowed to start the inning with a runner on second base.

Neither team scored in the sixth inning and both teams scored one run in the seventh. In the eighth inning, the Pride rallied to put three runs on the board and the Sting was unable to answer, losing the game 5-2. Jordan Ummel took the loss allowing six hits while striking out 10 and walking one. Simons led the offense with a double and Hageman, Fief, Bannister, Hoefler, Griffitt, and Prockish each adding singles. 

The Sting is currently 19-6-1 and is coached by Grant Bannister, Greg Fief, Russ Simons, and Ron Hageman. The Sting will be taking next weekend off before heading to the Kansas USSSA state tournament in Kansas City.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017