State reimburses county for DMV overtime

By The Mercury

Riley County received $16,580.03 reimbursement from the State of Kansas for costs incurred during the recent conversion of the Motor Vehicle Registration system.

This is based on the overtime hours worked on the new system during May and June calculated at an average rate of $12 per hour. This reimbursement is a tangible sign of the Department of Revenue and the motor vehicle division’s appreciation for the departments working together to move the state’s motor vehicle system into the 21st century.

While there have been many problems, the system is an improvement over the system it replaced. The new system is more complicated than the old system, but it provides much more information. The number of registrations and titles processed state wide in 2012 has surpassed the totals for the same period in 2011. As the department goes through the year there will be many records to correct or update due to some not converting properly. However, once these problems are corrected, the department expects processing to be much smoother.

A final reminder that Friday is the last day to renew plates with owner’s last names beginning with “P-R.” The department will not charge penalties on Oct. 1, but people are risking a ticket if they drive their vehicle after midnight on Sept. 30. Those with a PIN number on their renewal can renew on the state’s website without any additional convenience fee being charged. Those wanting to renew by mail are encouraged to do so early in the week. The department’s goal is a two day turn around for those done by mail and over the web.









Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2016