Regents create transfer system

By The Mercury

A statewide system will recognize college credits for “reverse transfer” students after a decision from the Kansas Board of Regents this week.

At all of the state’s 32 public postsecondary institutions, a “reverse transfer” will allow eligible students to get their university credit recognized at their former institution to obtain associate degrees.

“This commitment aims to better facilitate the transfer of students, enhance the number and quality of learning options at Kansas public postsecondary institutions, and provide a seamless transfer process for students,” Emporia University president Michael Shonrock said in a press release.

Universities will notify students of their eligibility, and once the coursework for the associate’s degree is completed, they will receive their degrees automatically by correspondence between the institutions.

With Kansas’s adoption of a statewide reverse transfer policy, 20 states have adopted the system: Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas and West Virginia.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017