Mostly Cloudy


Redistricting committee set to vote

By Bill Felber

The Kansas Senate’s redistricting committee has scheduled a vote Wednesday on a proposed new map for the state’s four congressional districts that moves both Riley and Pottawatomie Counties into the First District.

The map moves McPherson County into the Fourth District, and moves Wabaunsee County along with all of Douglas County into the Second District.

State Sen. Tim Owens, who chairs the Senate’s redistricting committee, said he supports the map, but added he is willing to consider alternatives. Any map approved by the Senate must still be accepted by the House.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017