Midwest Yankees win tournament

By The Mercury

The 13-and-under Midwest Yankees won their season-opening tournament in Salina this past weekend at the 8th annual Salina Slugfest.

The Yankees beat the McPherson Jr. Pups 12-2, and the Salina Irish 14-0 on Saturday.

On Sunday, the Yankees defeated the Salina Diamond Backs 5-1 in the semifinal to advance to the championship game against the Cottonwood Valley Rangers.

The Yankees scored two runs in the bottom of the seventh to secure the championship trophy.

The Yankees team members include Corbin Alvarez, Payton Donnelly, Chase Brown, T.J.Ladner, Jayson Ebert, Justin Ebert, Kealy Fox, Connor Lierz, Griffin Mclemore, Matt Bollman and Cooper Imthurn. The Yankees are coached by Rob Mclemore, Thad Donnelly, Tod Brown and Jimmy Ladner.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017