Light Rain


Klein finalist for Maxwell, O’Brien Awards

By The Mercury

K-State senior quarterback Collin Klein has been named a finalist for both the Maxwell Award as the college football player of the year and the Davey O Brien Award as nation’s best quarterback in a joint announcement by ESPN and the awards committees Monday afternoon.

Klein was joined by Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Notre Dame linebacker Manti T eo as finalists for the Maxwell Award, while Klein, Manziel and Ohio State’s Braxton Miller made up the list of finalists for the Davey O Brien Award.

A product of Loveland, Colo., Klein is the first finalist for the awards since Michael Bishop in 1998. Bishop was a finalist for the Maxwell Award, while he was the Davey O Brien Award winner that season.

Klein is in the midst of one of the best seasons in K-State history as he has guided the Wildcats to a 10-1 overall record and a 7-1 mark in Big 12 play.

The quarterback has accounted for 34 touchdowns this season to rank 10th nationally in touchdown responsibility, while he is tied for second nationally and leads all quarterbacks with 20 rushing touchdowns. He is the only quarterback from a BCS AQ school in the BCS era to rush for at least 20 touchdowns and pass for at least 10 touchdowns in multiple seasons.

In 11 games, Klein has thrown for 2,306 yards and 14 touchdowns on 172-of-258 passing, while he has totaled 787 rushing yards on 171 attempts.

Voting for the Maxwell Award will begin today and close on Dec. 2, for eligible voters, which include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017