K-State faculty receive recognition for dedication to students, research

By The Mercury

Kansas State University’s colleges are honoring faculty members for excellence in teaching, research, service and advising. The honorees and their awards include:

• College of Agriculture: Jennifer Bormann, associate professor of animal sciences and industry, and Brian Briggeman, associate professor of agricultural economics, are the college’s faculty of the spring 2013 semester. Bob Goodband, professor of animal sciences and industry, is the college’s adviser of the year. Greg Davis, professor of horticulture, forestry and recreation resources, received the college’s David J. Mugler Outstanding Teaching Award. Channa Rajashekar, professor of horticulture, forestry and recreation resources, received the college’s Graduate Teaching Award.

• College of Arts and Sciences: Recipients of the William L. Stamey Teaching Award are Brianne Heidbreder, assistant professor of political science; Amy Lara, associate professor of philosophy; Daniel Hoyt, assistant professor of English; and Andrew Ricketts, doctoral student and graduate teaching assistant in biology. The William L. Stamey Advising Award was awarded to Christopher Culbertson, associate professor of chemistry.

• College of Human Ecology: Jared Anderson, assistant professor in the School of Family Studies and Human Services, received the Dawley-Scholar Award for Excellence in Student Development, which recognizes outstanding achievement in the personal/professional development of students. David Poole, professor of kinesiology, received the Faculty Extension Excellence Award for superior accomplishments in scholarship, including research and creative activities. Kristy Archuleta, assistant professor of personal financial planning, was awarded the Myers-Alford Teaching Award for outstanding teaching and contributions to the field.

•College of Veterinary Medicine: Kenneth Harkin, professor of clinical sciences, received the Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award for excellence as a teacher, mentor and motivator. H. Morgan Scott, professor of diagnostic medicine and pathobiology, received the Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence for his outstanding research in veterinary epidemiology and microbial ecology. Jerome Nietfeld, professor in the veterinary diagnostic lab, received the Dr. William and Deanna Pritchard Veterinary Service and Outreach Award.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017