Mostly Cloudy


HCC inducts international honor society members

By The Mercury

Nine regional Highland Community College students were formally inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society March 30 at HCC-Wamego.

New members of the Beta Nu Omega Chapter who took part in the formal induction ceremony were Daniel Armesto, St. Marys; Kendra Baird, Onaga; Jacob Dietrich, Wamego; Paul Flumen, Wamego; Haley Lenauer, Westmoreland; Amber Phillimore,Wamego; Dee Roblyer, Olsburg; Bridget Turner, Onaga; and Sammy Zeller, Paxico.

Students who accepted PTK membership for the spring semester but were unable to attend the event were Catherine Adame, Mayetta; Katherine Barnes, Atchison; Bailee Deviney, Winchester; Lucas Haefner, Topeka; Khrista Hilton, Lawrence; Jordan Madorin, Perry; Stefanie Morris, Manhattan; Jordan Morris, Manhattan; Cindy Ramdorsingh, Ozawkie; Jaimie Reed, Meriden; Kasie Robbins, Holton; Megen Voyles, Horton; and Jeanne Weber, Effingham.

Flumen also was recognized for being named to the 2014 Kansas All-State Academic Team.

The Beta Nu Omega induction ceremony was conducted by Kira Shropshire, chapter president, and Kelly Priest, HCC-Wamego student services representative, the chapter adviser.

Priest also was presented with a bouquet of flowers for receiving a Horizon Award for her work as a new PTK chapter adviser. Diane Hinrichs, director of HCC-Wamego, provided the words of welcome.

Phi Theta Kappa, the official honor society for two-year colleges, is the largest honor society in American higher education. More than 2 million students belong to the 1,200 chapters located in all 50 states, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.

The honor society was established in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide members with opportunities for leadership and service.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017