Four K-State women’s golfters earn academic honors

By The Mercury

The Kansas State women’s golf team placed four members on the Academic All-Big 12 Team, including three that were named to the first team, as the conference office announced the accolades on Wednesday.

Sophomore Gianna Misenhelter, senior Paige Osterloo and junior Hanna Roos each earned first-team honors, while junior Whitney Pyle was named to the second team.

Misenhelter earned conference academic honors for the first time in her career. She has participated in all 10 events this season with her best finish coming at the Marilynn Smith/Sunflower Invitational where she placed second. Misenhelter holds the best stroke average on the team at 74.60.

This is Osterloo’s second citation of her career as the senior has participated in seven events this year with a pair of top-20 finishes. Her highest placing was seventh at the Marilynn Smith/Sunflower Invitational.

Roos also earned an Academic All-Big 12 designation for the second time in her career. The junior has participated in eight events in 2011-12 with her best finish at the Westbrook Invitational where she placed 12th.

Pyle, who is a first-time honoree, has participated in all 10 events this season with her best finish at the Indiana Invitational where she placed seventh. Pyle has the third-best stroke average on the team at 75.92.

Next action for the Wildcats is April 27-29 at the 2012 Big 12 Championships at the Lawrence Country Club in Lawrence.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017