Four Indians named first-team all-league

By Grant Guggisberg

After a season that included a second-round playoff game and a Centennial League title, the Manhattan High football team landed four individuals on the all-league first team — occupying seven spots — while head coach Joe Schartz was named Centennial League coach of the year.

Receiver and return man Bret Fehr landed on the first team twice, while center and defensive tackle Brandon Nowlin also made it twice. Linebacker and punter Jonah Webber rounded out the two-way players making the first team. Ethan Fabrizius also made first team at safety.

On the second team, junior running back Chris Martin was honored, as well as tight end Winston Dimel and tackle Seth Eckels. James Kordyak made the second team defensively, while kicker Joseph Trujillo made the second-team as a special teams player.

Five players were named Honorable Mention by the league’s coaches, including Fabrizius (running back), Dimel (defensive end), Henry Bieber (linebacker), Darian Taylor (defensive back) and Mike Settembrino (defensive back).

Topeka High quarterback Alec Beatty and Washburn Rural offensive lineman were named co-offensive players of the year, while Topeka High’s Austin Tillman and Emporia’s Parker Bass were named co-defensive players of the year.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017