Finalists named for scholarship

By The Mercury

Kansas State University has named 12 high school seniors as finalists for the university’s Civic Leadership Scholarship, presented by Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services.

The finalists competed in an on-campus interview and recognition day Jan. 23. The competition rewards students who are making a difference and demonstrating creativity by developing projects and programs with a lasting impact on those they serve. The finalists were selected for demonstrating a commitment to serving others in their community, school or place of worship. Read the winners’ summaries of their civic engagement at:

Former Kansas governor and Kansas State University School of Leadership Studies professor John Carlin served as honorary chairman of the Civic Leadership Scholarship competition.

“Carlin provided a supportive voice to all the finalists,” said Kiley Moody, coordinator of the university’s new student services.

Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services contribute funding for three academic scholarship awards. Finalists who are not awarded one of the top three scholarships receive $500 book scholarships, which are funded by Kansas Farm Bureau, Farm Bureau Financial Services and combined gifts from Steve and Patricia Baccus and Dan and Cheryl Yunk.

“Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services believe whole-heartedly in the importance of giving back to the communities we serve,” said Steve Baccus, Kansas Farm Bureau president and chairman of the board for Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Co. “That’s why we’re so proud to be a part of a scholarship program that recognizes outstanding young people who already understand they have the power to make a difference.”

Kansas State University Civic Leadership Scholarship finalists, all seniors in high school, are:

Savannah Sherwood, Assaria, Southeast of Saline High School, $2,500 Civic Leadership Scholarship; Wade Gassmann, Atchison, Atchison High School, $500 book scholarship; Garrett Wilkinson, Hutchinson, Buhler High School, $4,000 Civic Leadership Scholarship; Madison McClellan, Palco, Palco High School, $2,000 Civic Leadership Scholarship; Samantha Meier, Palmer, Linn High School, $500 book scholarship; Makenzie Deines, Ramona, Center Junior-Senior High School, $500 book scholarship; Nicollette Caselman, Salina, Southeast of Saline High School, $500 book scholarship; Caroline Peters, Shawnee, Mill Valley High School, $500 book scholarship; and Celeste Bartels, Tonganoxie, Tonganoxie High School, $500 book scholarship.

From out of state:

Ashley Abrahamson, Kingsburg, Calif., Kingsburg High School, $500 book scholarship; Megan Burke, Castle Pines, Colo., Rock Canyon High School, $500 book scholarship; and Emily Schneider, Mustang, Okla., Mustang High School, $500 book scholarship.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017