Partly Cloudy


FHSC Warriors win tourney

By The Mercury

The Flint Hills Soccer Club’s Warriors won the boys’ 14-and-under gold division of the April Fool’s Futbol Festival last weekend in Lawrence. The Warriors stayed undefeated during the spring season and allowed just one goal in the four tournament games.

In pool play, the Warriors defeated KC Fusion 3-0, tied SKV U13 Jambars 1-1 and defeated SKV Jambars 1-0. 

After regulation ended in a 0-0 tie in the championship game, the Warriors won 4-2 on penalty kicks to defeat the SKV Jambars for the title.

Team members include Nate Awbrey, Zach Bergeron, Gavin Bishop, Cooper Blank, Jackson Boyle, Ben Choi, Will Clark, Nimrod Eshar, Modou Faburay, Job Ferguson, Elijah Jepsen, Ethan Koopman, Garrett McNulty, Ty Reeves, Jared Schroeder, Keegan Taylor and Dylan Thomas. The Warriors are coached by Rick Awbrey, Russell Taylor and Matt Jepsen.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017