Chambers, Childs named All-Big 12 First Team

By The Mercury

IRVING, Texas — For the first time since the 2008-09 season, the Kansas State women’s basketball team placed two players on the All-Big 12 first team as junior Brittany Chambers and senior Jalana Childs garnered the honors in an announcement by the league office on Monday.

This is the fifth time K-State has placed two players on the All-Big 12 first team in the same season.

Chambers is the fifth K-State player in the Big 12 era to earn multiple All-Big 12 first-team honors from the league’s coaches and the first since the 2010 season.

The native of Jordan, Minn., was one of two players in the Big 12 to register 400 or more points, 180 or more rebounds and at least 60 assists this season.

Earlier this season, Chambers became the 12th player in the program’s history to score 400 or more points in consecutive seasons with her 429 points (14.3 ppg) and has set a new career-high for rebounds with 187.

Chambers’ point-per-game average ranks eighth in the league, while she leads the league in 3-point field goals made per game (2.5), 16th in the league in rebounds per game (6.2) and is second in the league for minutes played per game (36.5).

This is the second-career All-Big 12 first team honor for Chambers, as she was a unanimous selection at the conclusion of the 2011 season.

In addition to her on court honors, Chambers was recognized for her work in the classroom, earning Academic All-Big 12 first-team honors for the second time in her career.

Childs earned her second-career all-league honor and first All-Big 12 first-team citation with a strong post game this season.

The forward from Orlando, Fla., has scored a career-high 423 points (14.1 ppg) this season to rank ninth in the league. Earlier this season, Childs joined Chambers with consecutive seasons with 400 or more points scored and is the 17th player to score 400 or more points in her senior season for K-State.

In league action, Childs has averaged 13.7 points to rank 10th in the league. Childs turned up her production during Big 12 play, as she recorded 13 games in doubles figures — including a stretch of six straight contests in double digits to close out the regular season.

Earlier this season, Childs garnered Academic All-Big 12 second-team honors and was the 2012 Winter Big 12 Community of Champions recipient. Prior to the start of the season, Childs was a candidate for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award.

Both Chambers and Childs etched their names into K-State history earlier this year, as the duo became the 37th and 38th players in school history to register 1,000 points for their careers.

Chambers is 11th with 1,331 career points and needs 11 points to climb into the top 10. Childs ranks 21st for career points with 1,174, needing 16 more points to move into the top 20.

In Big 12 individual awards announced on Monday, junior Brittney Griner of Baylor was named the Big 12 Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season. The Lady Bears, the 2012 Big 12 regular season champion, also saw head coach Kim Mulkey earn her second straight Big 12 Coach of the Year honors.

In addition to Chambers, Childs and Baylor’s Griner, other players named to the All-Big 12 first team were Odyssey Sims of Baylor, Chelsea Poppens of Iowa State, Carolyn Davis of Kansas, Aaryn Ellenberg of Oklahoma, Whitney Hand of Oklahoma, Chassidy Fussell of Texas and Tyra White of Texas A&M.

The Big 12 second team included Destiny Williams of Baylor, Angel Goodrich of Kansas, Christine Flores of Missouri, Tiffany Bias of Oklahoma State and Sydney Carter of Texas A&M.

K-State finished the regular season with an 18-12 overall record and a 9-9 mark in the Big 12, which was tied for fourth in the Big 12 standings and resulted in the No. 5 seed for the Big 12 Women’s Basketball Championships at Municipal Auditorium.

The Wildcats will play No. 4-seed Iowa State (18-11) on Thursday at 11 a.m.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017