Architecture department wins award

By The Mercury

Kansas State University’s landscape architecture/regional and community planning department was honored recently with two awards from the Kansas chapter of the American Planning Association.

It’s the third year in a row that the department has received the chapter’s New Horizon Award, which recognizes a student or student group that pushed the boundaries of planning in creative and innovative ways. The chapter named two New Horizon Award recipients this year, both for projects by Kansas State University landscape architecture/regional and community planning classes.

“Recognition from the Kansas chapter of the American Planning Association is a great honor,” said Stephanie Rolley, professor and head of the landscape architecture/regional and community planning department. “Bringing community planning to Kansas residents is an important part of our department’s mission and it is wonderful to have the quality of our efforts recognized by our professional society.”

The class projects receiving the honor were the Planning in Pop Culture class radio show, led by Huston Gibson and Kate Nesse, assistant professors, along with La Barbra Wigfall, associate professor; and the Site Planning and Design Studio’s spring 2013 Wichita Metropolitan Studio project, led by Blake Belanger, associate professor, and Jon Hunt, assistant professor.

College of Architecture, Planning and Design students who participated in the award-winning projects include:

Michelle McElroy, landscape architecture, Derby; Natalie Webb, landscape architecture, Hays; Mitchell Koop, August 2013 Master of Architecture graduate, Hillsboro; Dale Bradley, landscape architecture, Prairie Village; and Danielle DeOrsey, landscape architecture, Wichita.

From out of state:

Wendy Lai, architecture, Fountain Valley, Calif.; Elizabeth Haddox, landscape architecture Denver, Colo.; Cydnie Jones, landscape architecture, Lakeland, Fla.; Aaron Johnson, August 2013 Master of Landscape Architecture graduate, Skokie, Ill.; James Ross DeVault, landscape architecture, St. Charles, Ill.

From Missouri: Rebekah Chmura, architecture, Lee’s Summit; Ashley Brewster, landscape architecture, Ste. Genevieve; Rachel Fox and Gabriela Weber, both landscape architecture and both from, St. Louis; and Abigail Glastetter, landscape architecture, Washington.

From Nebraska: Glen Jarrett, landscape architecture, Papillion; and Katherine Leise, landscape architecture, and Nicolas Olson, regional & community planning, both from Omaha.

Diane Cocchiara, landscape architecture, Coppell, Texas; Nicholas Mercado, landscape architecture, Plano, Texas; Benjamin Williamson, landscape architecture, South Jordan, Utah; and Kraig Weber, landscape architecture, Appleton, Wis.

From out of country: Yue Liu, landscape architecture, Tianjin, China.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017