All-Centennial teams announced

By The Mercury

With the state basketball tournaments around the state finished and champions crowned, it’s the time of year for awards.

Both the girls’ and boys’ all-league honors for the Centennial League were released on Tuesday, with eight of Manhattan High’s players recognized.

For the girls’ team (15-7, 8-5 Centennial), both Darby Price and Elayna Spilker were named to the second team, while Caroline Ballard received honorable mention. Kristen Thompson was named to the all-defensive team.

It was league-champion Washburn Rural sweeping the top honors this year, with coach Kevin Bordewick named Centennial League coach of the year, while his star guard Erika Lane was player of the year. Hayden freshman Jordan Lenherr was named newcomer of the year. Lane, Tatyana Legette (Seaman), Sarah Pimentel (Hayden), Danielle Poblarp (Shawnee Heights), Brianna Knight (Emporia) and Autura Campbell (Topeka West) made up the first team.

For the Manhattan boys’ (12-10, 7-6), four players were honored by the league’s coaches. Jacob Holloway was named to the third team, while Jonathon Taylor, Chris Hudgins and Payton Stephens were honorable mention picks.

Not surprisingly, Class 4A runner-up Highland Park was the most well-represented team on the list, landing both Shaffee Carr and Jahmal McMurray on the first team, with three others on the third team, three on the all-defensive team and an honorable mention. Scots coach Ken Darting was also named coach of the year.

Others on the first team included Jovan Barksdale (Shawnee Heights), Riley Landuyt (Washburn Rural) and Jackson Perez (Emporia). Perez was named player of the year by the coaches, while Seaman’s Joe Miller was named newcomer of the year.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017