All-Big 12 is all Wildcats this year

By The Mercury

The awards keep rolling in for the Kansas State football team.

Collin Klein was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year by both the league coaches and the Associated Press, earning first-team honors from both.

Bill Snyder earned AP Big 12 Coach of the Year on Tuesday and then made it another on Wednesday when he was tabbed the top coach by the league.

The league coaches also voted senior linebacker Arthur Brown Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, earning first-team honors from both the coaches and AP.

It’s been a busy week for the Wildcats, who defeated Texas on Saturday night to win the Big 12 and learned they’d be playing Oregon in the Fiesta Bowl on Sunday. Klein won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award early Monday afternoon and then was named one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy later that night.

Also taking home first-team league honors from the coaches on Wednesday was running back John Hubert, offensive lineman Cornelius Lucas and tight end Travis Tannahill. BJ Finney and Tannahill were named to the AP All-Big 12 First team as well, while Lucas was on the second team by the AP and Hubert was honorable mention.

Senior defensive end Meshak Williams took home the league’s Defensive Lineman of the Year award and was named to the Big 12 First Team by both the coaches and AP. Joining Williams and Brown on the first team was junior safety Ty Zimmerman, who was recognized by both the coaches and AP.

The league coaches selected senior receiver Chris Harper to the All-Big 12 Second Team. Senior kicker Anthony Cantele was named to the second team by both the AP and coaches. Tyler Lockett earned AP second-team honors as an all-purpose player.

Senior defensive end Adam Davis was named to the second-team defense by both the league coaches and AP. Senior cornerback Nigel Malone earned second-team honors from the AP. Defensive tackle Via Lutui was voted second team by the coaches.

Big 12 Honorable Mention selections from the coaches included linebacker Jarell Childs, punter Ryan Doerr, BJ Finney, Lockett, receiver Tramaine Thompson, offensive lineman Cody Whitehair and linebacker Jared Loomis, who was nominated for the Big 12 Scholar Athlete of the Year award.

AP Honorable Mentions included offensive lineman Tavon Rooks, fullback Braden Wilson, Doerr, Harper, Childs and Lockett as a receiver. Klein was named honorable mention as an offensive all-purpose player.

Klein will be in Orlando, Fla., tonight for the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, beginning at 6:30 on ESPN. The senior is a finalist for the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien awards.

On Friday, Klein will make his way to Baltimore, Md., to accept the Golden Arm award and then travel to New York Saturday morning for the Heisman Trophy presentation that night, airing on ESPN at 7 p.m.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017