11 K-State baseball players named Academic All-Big 12

By The Mercury

A program-record 11 K-State baseball players were named to the 2014 Academic All-Big 12 Team, the conference announced. Seven Wildcats were named to the First Team.

All four seniors — Blair DeBord, Ross Kivett, Jared Moore, and RJ Santigate — led the group of 11, with Kivett and Santigate earning First-Team distinctions.

Also among the group were sophomore Landon Busch, sophomore Clayton Dalrymple, redshirt-freshman Nate Griep, redshirt-freshman Colton Kalmus, sophomore Levi MaVorhis, redshirt-junior Mitch Meyer, and sophomore Jordan Witcig.

Joining Kivett and Santigate on the First Team were Dalrymple, Griep, Kalmus, MaVorhis, and Witcig. Earning Second-Team honors were Busch, DeBord, Meyer, and Moore.

The previous record for most Academic All-Big 12 selections in a single season for K-State was seven.

K-State will wrap up its 2014 season this weekend with a three-game series against No. 19 Texas at Tointon Family Stadium.

The series opener is tonight at 6:30, which will feature a postgame fireworks show. Saturday will be senior night as the Wildcats honor their class of four seniors prior to the 6:30 p.m. first pitch.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | The Manhattan Mercury, 318 North 5th Street, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502 | Copyright 2017